Divergent: A book review

Image

Divergent by Veronica Roth

The world of Divergent is set in a dystopian Chicago, where society is divided into five sections or factions, as it is called in the book. Each faction values a particular human trait. The factions are Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave) and Erudite (the intelligent). One day each year, all sixteen-year-olds must take an aptitude test to let them know which faction they are best suited for. After, there is a ceremony in which they must choose to either stay in the faction they were raised in or transfer to another faction.

The story introduces the readers to sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior. Beatrice was born and raised in Abnegation. The way Roth describes the story through Beatrice’s eyes was one of the reasons I became so engrossed in the story. Beatrice is conflicted about and after the aptitude test, unsure where her destiny lies. I was immediately able to connect with the character and even relate in her fears of not being able to share the thoughts running through her mind.

Veronica Roth had me flipping each page faster than I could read the words. Each scene had me sitting at the edge of my seat, only wanting more. I was drawn into the world of Divergent, getting to know more about Beatrice, her friends and what could possibly lie ahead. After she chooses her faction, you see Beatrice’s personality soar, showing sides of her that would not have appeared had she stayed in Abnegation and why her old faction did not suit her. There is also the romantic connection between Beatrice and her instructor, Four who is only eighteen years old and quite intimidating. Also, handsome. I have especially enjoyed the scenes where there connection grows and I can only hope it will blossom along the way.

There was so much more to this story then watching Beatrice transfer to another faction and fighting her way to the top in an attempt to become on of the ten initiates. There’s the mystery playing about with the Erudite faction and the secret behind who Four really is. I don’t want to spoil the story for future readers; you just have to check it out!

I already re-read Divergent, including skimming over my favorite scenes. Once I was done with the book, I quickly jumped into the sequel!

All in all, it was a great read. I highly recommend it!

5/5 stars for Veronica Roth’s Divergent

Note: I just found out there’s going to be a movie. I can only hope that it stays true to the book and that it is most excellent!!

2 thoughts on “Divergent: A book review

  1. I’ve been eyeing these books for a while now. I’m really excited to sit down and read them, I just need to finish the book I’ve already committed myself to. lol.

  2. Pingback: Fourtris; | Dura lex, sed lex;

Leave a Reply

